press release

Texaco Press Release - Texaco Customers Can 'Race to Millions' with Summer Scratch-Off Sweepstakes


HOUSTON, Texas, June 30 - This summer, 10 lucky Texaco customers could become millionaires and the biggest motor sports fans in the country.

Participating Texaco service stations across the United States are offering the "Race to Millions II" scratch-off sweepstakes, giving Texaco customers a chance to win $1 million or free gasoline if a member of the Texaco/Havoline motor sports team wins a race.

"In 1997, the 'Race to Millions' promotion made a millionaire of Christie McKnight of Panama City, Florida," said Chuck Kosich, advertising and communications manager for the Texaco brand. "Christie won $1 million when Texaco/Havoline driver Ernie Irvan won the Miller 400 at the Michigan Speedway. This year, we hope 'Race to Millions II' will make millionaires of 10 more Texaco customers."

It's easy to play. Customers who pick up game pieces at participating Texaco locations simply scratch off the sections which say, "Your driver and your chance to win $1,000,000" and "Your chance to win an instant gasoline prize." If the game piece driver is declared the official winner of a designated race in his/her category by September 8, the customer wins $1 million. Texaco customers are instant winners if their "instant win box" reveals $1 worth of CleanSystem3 Gasoline.

"The Texaco brand has been involved in racing for more than 80 years," said Kosich. "'Race to Millions II' is designed to thank our many customers for their continued support and commitment to our motor sports program. We believe that when Texaco wins, our customers also should win. 'Race to Millions II' will give the Texaco brand a chance to share the winner's circle with all of its customers."

Texaco/Havoline sponsors some of the most successful and exciting drivers on the National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR), Championship Auto Racing Teams Inc. (CART), National Hot Rod Association (NHRA) and Formula One circuits. Members of the Texaco/Havoline motor sports team include Kenny Irwin, NASCAR; Dale Jarrett, NASCAR; Michael Andretti, CART; Christian Fittipaldi, CART; Jimmy Vasser, CART; Alex Zanardi, CART; Shelly Anderson, NHRA; Randy Anderson, NHRA; Jos Verstappen, Formula One (replacing Jan Magnussen); and Rubens Barrichello, Formula One.

"There is no better place to showcase Texaco's premium petroleum products than at America's No. 1 spectator sport," said Kosich. "The drama of daring athletes, driving superbly-engineered racing machines in exciting contests of speed and skill, is a perfect atmosphere in which to promote Texaco products and services."

There are more than 13,700 Texaco retail outlets across the U.S.

Updated: June 1998