press release

Texaco Press Release - Texaco Holds Sixth Management Institute for Executives of Non-Profits


WHITE PLAINS, N.Y., May 30 -- Texaco announced that the sixth Texaco Management Institute (TMI), a management development workshop for key national and international executives of non-profit organizations was held May 23-26, in Houston. Including this class, a total of 136 heads of non-profit groups will have benefited from this highly effective training.

Designed to provide formalized management training through the use of learning modules and personal feedback sessions for executives of non-profit organizations, the Texaco Management Institute was administered by two of the nation's leading management consultants, Marshall Goldsmith, founding director of Keilty, Goldsmith and Company and member of the Drucker Foundation Board and Nadir Muwwakkil, President of Vision Group International.

"The Texaco Management Institute brings together heads of non-profit groups for an interactive learning experience designed to develop leadership skills," said Anne T. Dowling, Director, Corporate Contributions and Community Relations. "Just as Texaco invests in leadership development for its own employees, we believe it is vital to extend this training to the non-profit sector which makes such an important contribution to the strength of our communities."

The three-day course, which provides highly focused learning modules, will have immediate application for each participant. The course curriculum includes feedback on the conferees' leadership style, discussion on strategic planning, and a workshop that teaches how to understand the factors that make people different, and how to turn that understanding into more effective working relationships.

In 1999, the Texaco Management Institute was expanded to two locations, Houston and Washington, D.C.

NOTE TO EDITORS: The list of TMI attendees is attached.

MAY 24 - 26, 2000

Name Title Organization
Dwayne Ashley Executive Director Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund
Hollis Booker Managing Director INROADS/Colorado, Inc.
Melanie Boulet Executive Director Les Reflections du Bayou
Anna Escobedo Cabral President/CEO Hispanic Association on Corporate Responsibility
Steve Choi President Asian American Coalition
David Diaz Executive Director Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
Lucia Diaz Executive Director The MarVista Institute
Irma Flores-Gonzales Director of Development Siete DelNorte
Rafael Gonzalez Executive Director Public Allies-Los Angeles
Stephen Harmon Director, Comm. Relations LSU Foundation
Carl Hecht VP, Membership Services North Texas Commission
Michelle Henderson Executive Director American Indian Business Leaders
Jorge Hinojosa Director, Workforce and Economic Development National Council of La Raza
Beatriz Lopez-Flores >VP, Community Education
& Public Policy
Mexican American Legal Defense
& Educational Fund
Wilson Martinez-DelRio Managing Director INROADS
Brenda McDuffie President/CEO Local Affiliate Urban League of Buffalo
William T. Merritt President/CEO National Black United Fund
Jill Miller Executive Director Women Work!
Ethel Mitchell VP, Administration Congressional Black Caucus
Foundation, Inc.
Erica Pena VP, Public Relations Texas Association of Mexican American
Chamber Of Commerce
Arnoldo H. Resendez VP for Technical Assistance
and Constituency Support
National Council of La Raza
Theresa Sanders President/CEO Local Affiliate Urban League of Long Island
Kevin Smith Executive Director Fearless Tigers Cultural Arts Center
Suzanne I. Tufts President & CEO American Women's Economic
Development Corporation
Anita Windsor Deputy Director Pan American Development Foundation

Updated: May 2000