press release

Texaco Press Release - UKOOA Announces Executive Officers for 2001

The following press release was issued by the UK Offshore Operators Association (UKOOA).


UK, Dec. 14 - The UK Offshore Operators Association (UKOOA) today announced the names of the twelve senior industry figures that will form its Executive Committee for 2001.

The team will be led by John McDonald, managing director of Texaco Limited, who takes over from UKOOA's current president, Dave Smith of Marathon Oil UK Ltd, with immediate effect.

Each member is either nominated to serve as an operator representative on PILOT, the government industry initiative chaired by Energy Minister, Helen Liddell, and on the related Industry Leadership Team (ILT) that supports PILOT, or has senior responsibility in one or more of UKOOA's main committees, driving key issues such as safety, decommissioning, gas, and energy and environment policy.

Three new operating companies will be joining UKOOA's ranks - Clyde Petroleum Exploratie BV, EDC (Europe) Ltd and Venture Production Ltd - bringing to 32 the total number of oil and gas firms represented by the Association.

And in a move reflecting the mood for wider collaboration across the Industry, the Association is offering for the first time associate membership to so-called "duty-holders", the major contracting companies who operate facilities in the North Sea on behalf of UKOOA members.

UKOOA's Executive Officers for 2001 are:

John McDonald
Managing Director, Texaco Ltd
Vice President
PILOT, co-Chair ILT
Malcolm Brinded
Managing Director, Shell UK Exploration and Production
Vice President
(PILOT, ILT, Chair Safety & Step Change)
Paul Blakeley
General Manager, Talisman Oil (UK) Ltd
Executive Officers
Chair Gas Task Group Ltd
George Watkins CBE
Chairman and Managing Director, Conoco (UK) Ltd
ILT, PILOT, Economic Advisory Group, Communications Steve Marshall
Regional President - Scotland, BP
ILT, Chair Fiscal Task Group Phil Dimmock
Managing Director, Ranger Oil (UK) Ltd
ILT, Chair Energy and Environment Policy Group Ltd Jo Groeger
Managing Director, Veba Oil and Gas UK Ltd
ILT, Chair North Sea Beverly Mentzer
Decommissioning Group Manager,
Joint Interest UK, ExxonMobil
And Honorary Treasurer
Chair Sustainable Development Work Group Bob Connon
Managing Director, Chevron UK Ltd
ILT Michel Contie
Managing Director, TotalFinaElf Exploration UK
Nick Fairbrother
Managing Director, Amerada Hess Ltd
Peter Kallos
General Manager UK, Enterprise Oil plc

Commenting on the announcement, UKOOA's new president, John McDonald, said: "I am honoured to be taking up the role of President particularly at a time when confidence is returning to the North Sea. I look forward to seeing our industry's significant investment in the UK continental shelf continue to spark innovative new developments, extend field life and support job opportunities across the whole of the sector in the coming year."

James May, UKOOA Director General, added: "As the North Sea enters maturity, the UK offshore oil and gas industry is changing. The composition of UKOOA's membership and the structure of its executive team reflect these changes, acknowledging the diversity of players now operating in the UKCS and the issues the industry must address together if it is to continue its success well into the new century."

Updated: December 2000