press release

Unocal changes time for 2Q 2003 earnings conference call on July 30

El Segundo, Calif., July 24. 2003 -- Unocal Corporation (NYSE: UCL) today announced a change in the time of its second quarter 2003 earnings conference call webcast on Wednesday, July 30, 2003. The conference call will now begin at 9:00 a.m. PDT (noon EDT). Previously the call was scheduled for 8 a.m. PDT.

Investors, analysts, stockholders, news media, employees and the general public are invited to listen to the webcast. Listeners can use RealPlayer or Windows Media Player. Replays and transcripts of the conference call will be available on the Unocal web site (www.unocal.com) through Aug. 29, 2003.

Robert E. Wright, vice president of Investor Relations for Unocal, will be the conference call moderator. Charles R. Williamson, Unocal chairman and chief executive officer; Timothy H. Ling, Unocal president and chief operating officer; and Terry G. Dallas, Unocal chief financial officer, will also participate in the call. Unocal will offer graphics during the call that can be viewed or downloaded onto your computer from the Unocal web site.

Unocal expects to announce its second quarter 2003 earnings results on July 29 following the close of trading on the NYSE.

About Unocal Corporation

Unocal is one of the world's leading independent natural gas and crude oil exploration and production companies. The company's principal oil and gas activities are in North America and Asia.

Updated: July 2003